Celebrating Excellence: The Evolution of DLSAA Awards

Since 1950, the De La Salle Alumni Association (DLSAA) has been at the forefront of recognizing outstanding alumni whose achievements and contributions echo the Lasallian values of religio, mores, et cultura. Initially held in separate events by category, the awards have grown into a unifying celebration of excellence and commitment across the Lasallian community.

Beginnings and Growth

Based on our records, the awards began in 1950, though the exact details of the first ceremony remain unclear. The initial categories throughout the humble beginnings of DLSAA awards included the DLSAA Distinguished Lasallian Award, Achievement Award, Sports Hall of Fame Award, Lasallian Sports Achievement Award, and the Outstanding Award. Each of these was celebrated at different times and places, depending on the category, underscoring the diverse fields in which Lasallians excelled.

Unifying Celebrations

A significant shift occurred on September 18, 2009, with the introduction of the "OLSNOE" awards ceremony. This event marked the first time that awards across all categories were presented in a single ceremony, reflecting a unified approach to honoring the myriad paths of excellence pursued by De La Salle alumni. This change not only streamlined the process but also enhanced the sense of community among recipients and attendees.

The 2009 ceremony also saw the addition of new categories, such as the DLSAA Chapter Special Citation Award and the DLSAA President’s Award, further broadening the scope of recognition to include exceptional contributions in more specialized or localized contexts.

Expansion and Inclusion

In 2011, the DLSAA continued to evolve by introducing the DLSAA Order of Madame de Maillefer Awardee, a category that recognized extraordinary contributions that were in line with the global and visionary aspects of the Lasallian mission. This addition highlighted the international impact of Lasallian alumni and their ability to foster positive change on a global scale.

Looking Forward

Today, the DLSAA awards not only celebrate past accomplishments but also inspire current and future generations of Lasallians to aspire to greatness. Each ceremony is a reminder of the powerful impact that individuals can make, motivated by the core Lasallian principles.

As we look back at the evolution of these prestigious awards, it is clear that while the formats and categories may have changed, the essence of recognizing outstanding Lasallian spirit has remained the same. Through these awards, the DLSAA reaffirms its commitment to honoring those who exemplify the best of De La Salle's values — faith, service, and communion, ensuring that the legacy of excellence continues to thrive in every corner of the world.