Dominguez, Macario A.
HS 1966
DLSAA Sports Hall of Fame Awardee
In 1965, Macario “Macky” Dominguez was on the tennis team that won the Junior NCAA championships. Macky went on to win the prestigious Philippine National Junior Championships in 1966. Macky and tennis team captain Jerry Sison were ranked top 3 Men’s doubles team in the nation in their junior and senior high school years at La Salle. Macky went to the United States in 1967 on an NCAA college tennis scholarship offered by Southern Illinois University. During his college days, Macky played as one of the top players of the team in various dual meets and NCAA tournaments. After college, Macky returned home in 1974 to join the professional tour in the Philippines known then as the Marlboro Tennis Circuit, and then changed to the Virginia Slims in 1975.After an 8 year of absence from the Philippines, his wins over the top local players earned him the number one rank professional tennis player in the Philippines for winning numerous legs (tournaments) that were held all over the country. This led to his selection as Philippine player of the year in 1975 for tennis. He was selected to play for the Philippine Davis cup team in 1974 and 1975. From 1979 to 1983, Macky was selected as National Head Coach of the Philippine Men’s and Women’s tennis teams by Gintong Alay and the PHILTA in preparation for the 1979 South East Asian (SEA) games held in Manila in which the tennis team won three golds medals. Since 1984, Macky has been with Bayou Bluff Tennis Club. He has been the Club Manager and Director of Tennis and served as the Membership Director for the Club. He is one of several international caliber tennis pros on the coaching staff. While with Bayou Bluff, Macky was named 1988 Professional of the Year by the Mississippi Tennis Association, 1998 Mississippi Professional of the Year by the United States Professional Tennis Association and in 2001 was named Southern Division Club Manager of the Yearm by the United States Professional Tennis Association. He was inducted into the DLSAA Sports Hall of Fame in 2001.